Village Election ResultsThe
Nissequogue Board of Trustees welcomes Michael Grosskopf
newly elected Village Trustee. Trustee Grosskopf joins the
Trustees after recently serving as the Chief of the
Department. Please join us in welcoming Michael to the
Board of Trustees.
The Village Board of Trustees also bids a fond farewell to
Mayor Robert P. Clemente. Deputy Mayor Clemente has
served the Village of Nissequogue for over thirty years.
us in recognizing and thanking Bob for his dedicated
service to all
of the Village of Nissequogue residents.
Village of Nissequogue
Incorporated in 1926, the Village of Nissequogue is
Suffolk County on the North Shore of Long Island about 50
east of New York City. The geographic area of the Village
square miles. It is bounded on the west by the Nissequogue
on the north by the Long Island Sound, on the east by
Harbor and on the south by the Village of Head-of-the-
the Town of Smithtown.
The Village of Nissequogue is the site of the original
the Town of Smithtown. Richard Smith, the Patentee,
town in 1665 on land deeded to him by Lion Gardiner and
Wyandanch, who was the Sachem of the Montauks.
Within the Village borders, there is Delafield Woods
Huntington Woods Conservancy which contain many nature
where residents and visitors can view many different
native trees as
well as other indigenous flora. Along the Nissequogue
Short Beach and Stony Brook Harbor are found many unique
marshlands that are home to a host of native marsh grasses
as a number of large and small seabirds.
Many species of birds nest within the Village. These
herons, egrets, ducks, ospreys, Canada geese, owls and
hawks. Woodland animals such as the red fox, raccoon,
cottontail and deer are common sightings.
The Village is entirely residential. Within the
Village, there are no
industrial or commercial installations or uses permitted
agricultural and horticultural uses or special uses which
permitted and regulated by the Village.